Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: B. H. Blake (Chair), M. E. Hopton, C. W. Kilpatrick, D. M. Leslie, Jr., T. J. McIntyre, and S. B. McLaren.

Mission:

The Hartley H. T. Jackson Award was established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists to honor individuals with long and outstanding service to mammalogy and to the Society. Service has usually been in the areas of committee membership, governance of the Society, editors of ASM publications, or work on special projects. The Jackson Award Committee solicits and evaluates nominations from the membership and recommends a nominee to the Board of Directors. In the event that no nominations are received, the Committee selects a nominee. The Award is presented formally at the banquet or closing social of the Annual Meeting.

Information Items:

- (1) The Committee did not receive any letters of nomination from members of the Society this year.
- (2) The Committee had previously prepared a short list of potential nominees who had given long and outstanding service to ASM. When we did not receive nominations, we chose a person from the list as the nominee. The Committee prepared the nomination packet, which was sent to the President to be voted on by the Board of Directors. Announcement of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at the Awards Ceremony during the Closing Social.
- (3) Last year, 2015, the Jackson award was presented to Joseph F. Merritt, of the Illinois Natural History Survey, for his committed service over many years in numerous editorial positions for ASM publications.
- (4) The Committee continued working on a database of members who have served ASM in some capacity (officers, trustees, directors, editors, and committee members) for future use in assessing contributions of individuals to the Society.

Action Items:

(1) \$300 is requested for the award plaque.

Respectively submitted:

Barbara H. Blake, Chair (bhblake@uncg.edu)